24 April 2008

FELLOWSHIP - 2009 Peter Blazey Fellowship (life writing, biography, autobiography) Deadline: 7 July 2008


Applications are invited for the 2009 Peter Blazey Fellowship. This prestigious national award is presented annually to further a work in progress in the non-fiction fields of life writing, biography and autobiography.

The recipient will be supported in their work by a cash prize of $15,000, and a one-month residency at the Australian Centre at the University of Melbourne.

Past winners include:

2008 Prize shared between Andrew Lindsay, for his work in progress The God of Morphine, and Dmetri Kakmi, for his work in progress Motherland.

2007 Judith Pugh, for her work towards Unstill Life: Art, Politics and Living with Clifton Pugh, Chrysalis Publishing, 2008.

2006 Robert Kenny, for his work towards The Lamb Enters the Dreaming: Nathanael Pepper & the Ruptured World, Scribe Publications, 2007.

2005 Jennifer Compton, for her work towards Who Doesn’t Want Me to Dance?

Sara Hardy, for her work towards The Unusual Life of Edna Walling,
Allen & Unwin, 2005.

For further information and application forms, please visit

Please direct enquiries to James Waghorne,
tel: +61 3 8344 4154; email jwag@unimelb.edu.au

Applications close: Monday 7 July 2008.